Rockin’ Robyn’s Sassy Burger Food Cart – Portland Burger Week 2013 – Dessert from The Sugar Shop Food Cart!

IMG_9139

IMG_9339

Rockin’ Robyn’s Sassy Burger Food Cart – Portland Burger Week 2013  – Dessert from The Sugar Shop Food Cart! 

Portland Burger Week is a wonderful event created by the fine folks at the Portland Mercury. During Portland Burger Week you can get a wonderful burger for only $5.00 the week of August 5-11. www.PortlandBurgerWeek.com.

This year 12 establishments are taking part in the 2013 Burger Week.  I was interested to learn that a Food Cart was one of these establishments!

Wednesday evening August 7th I visited Rockin’ Robyn’s Sassy Burger Food Cart and Oh Baby! Did I have a GR8 burger!

If you want to find out about the other 11 burgers, check out this Mercury article by Chris Onstad – www.portlandmercury.com/portland/burger-masters. To find about the burger I devoured at Rockin’ Robyn’s, just keep reading!

IMG_9132

IMG_9296

Buffalo Burger – Rockin’ Robyn’s 2013 Portland Burger Week Contribution 

For Burger Week 2013 Robyn has a ground buffalo patty that comes with roasted red peppers, bacon, smoked Gouda cheese, white onion, tomato, pickles, mayo, and mustard on a Portland French Bakery brioche bun.

I loved this burger! The buffalo patty was moist and tender, and the bacon and the Gouda worked really well with roasted red peppers.

I would encourage you to order yours without mustard. Plenty of tasty flavors going on with this burger and for me, the mustard was a distraction.

IMG_9239

The brioche bun was toasted perfectly and was scrumptious!

This burger is worth the wait! On Wednesday night Rockin’ Robyn’s was packed. Go get yourself on of these burgers.

By the way  – here is what you should do if the wait for your burger is 30 minutes – place your order at Robyn’s and then turn around and walk over to The Sugar Shop Food Cart and get some dessert while you wait. Hey – that’s what I did. 

IMG_9380

Where

Both Rockin’ Robyn’s Sassy Burger Food Cart  and The Sugar Shop Food Cart are located at the Rose City Food Park Food Cart Pod – 52nd and Sandy.

IMG_9231

IMG_9224  IMG_9292

Who 

Robyn makes the Food Cart Magic happen at Rockin’ Robyn’s Sassy Burger Food Cart!

IMG_9180

IMG_9163   IMG_9173

Dessert! 

I have been to The Sugar Shop many times and it is always good. This week, Shannon and Autumn have a number of wonderful treats! They have three three fresh compotes that would go well on either the classic cheesecake or the vanilla ice cream. They also have a number of amazing cakes and ice creams.

Tonight while I waited for my burger, I enjoyed the Classic Cheesecake topped with the Peach in Sweet Wine Compote, some S’More Stout ice cream and some Port Cherry ice Cream.

Yep, you read that right. I had THREE desserts while I waited for my burger. It is a tough job, but some one has to do it. Have I ever mentioned that I love being a food writer!

IMG_0056  IMG_0035

The S’More Stout ice cream is made with S’More Stout from Base Camp Brewing Company. If you have not been to Base Camp Brewing Company yet, go as soon as Burger Week is over and make sure that you order some food from my friend Tal, owner of the Gonzo Falafel and Hummus Food Cart.

What? You want to know more about Gonzo? I happen to have a review that you can read right here – www.portlandfoodcartadventures.com/2012/10/18/gonzo-falafel-and-hummus-a-portland-food-cart-review

IMG_9176

Back to the S’More Stout Ice Cream

Autumn and Shannon AKA the Sugar B’s make The S’More Stout Ice Cream by taking their sweet cream base and adding Base Camp S’More Stout, dark chocolate, and their cart made marshmallow fluff. The ice cream ends up with a fudgy taste that has undertones of marshmallow. Really Nice!

IMG_9219

IMG_9199  IMG_9363

Port Cherry Ice Cream

This ice cream is made by cooking fresh cherries down in some Tesoaria Vineyards and Winery Port and then adding them to The Sugar Shop’s sweet cream base.

I love cherry  and coconut and often when I try something that has either of those flavors I am usually disappointed. For some reason, especially in desserts and alcohol, both of those flavors end up tasting artificial.

This ice cream has a wonderful subtle cherry flavor. Subtle, but definitely present. I wish I had a carton of it in the freezer right now.

IMG_9372  IMG_9358  IMG_9345

By the way. the cherries for this ice cream where bought from the Kruger’s Farm Stand located right there at the Rose City Food Park Food Cart Pod. This farm stand will be open through the Summer.

Here are few more pictures of both desserts and of the wonderful burger I enjoyed this evening! I hope that I have inspired you to head out on your own Food Cart Adventure!

IMG_9185  IMG_9167 IMG_9159  

IMG_9187

IMG_9241  IMG_9249  IMG_9251

IMG_9253  IMG_9259

IMG_9317

IMG_9335  IMG_9223

That’s it!

I am Steven Shomler and I am a Fan of Portland’s Great Food Carts.

  Portland Food Cart Adventures – We tell the stories of Portland’s GR8 Food Carts and the people who make Food Cart Magic happen.

Website – www.portlandfoodcartadventures.com

Connect with Portland Food Cart Adventures on Facebook – www.facebook.com/PortlandFoodCartAdventures

Connect with Portland Food Cart Adventures on Twitter –      www.twitter.com/GR8FoodCartsPDX

Connect with Portland Food Cart Adventures on YouTube – www.youtube.com/FoodCartTV

This entry was posted in Burgers, Desserts, Food Cart Special Event, Ice Cream, Rose City Food Cart Park 52nd and Sandy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment