Donut O Rama – A Portland Food Cart Review


They are back! Update June 9th, 2012

Today (Saturday June 9th) – Donut O Rama is opening a Beignet Food Cart Downtown Portland on SW 3rd and Ash serving Creme Brulee Beignets and traditional Beignets .

They will open about noon – 5:00 PM.

More details and updated pics coming soon!

Closed Attraction Update March 20, 2012 

As far as we know DonutOrama is no longer located at 10th and Alder.

It is our understanding that DonutOrama is looking for a new site for their wonderful Food Cart.

We wish them the best of luck!

Donut O Rama—A Portland Food Cart Review

Go To This Food Cart!  

Donut O Rama has wonderful donuts!

Greg has donuts prepared for him, according to his exacting specifications. Once the naked donuts arrive at his food cart, he makes the magic happen.

The donuts are frosted, filled and adorned with delight, right there in his food cart.

The best part of these donuts is the fantastic creativity that Greg exudes and applies to his wondrous donut creations.

Yes – Greg offer the donuts that you would expect – Apple Fritters, Maple Bars etc. Those donuts are very good. It is the other donuts that Greg offers, that you really want. See “The Food” section below to learn about some of these other donuts.

I suspect that Greg will continue to come up with new donut creations on a regular basis. When it come to inventiveness, he might become the Salt and Straw of donuts. www.saltandstraw.com  If you have not been to Salt and Straw, you need to go. Trust me on this one.

Where 

Donut O Rama is located in downtown Portland on the corner of SW 10th and Alder in the SW 10th and Alder Food Cart Pod.

  

When

The current hours for Donut O Rama are Monday through Friday 7:00 AM – 2:00 PM.

Connect and Follow

The website for Donut O Rama is www.donutorama.com

You can also follow Donut O Rama on Twitter – @Donutorama                                   Facebook – www.facebook.com/donutorama

   

The Food!

Time for the best part!  Pictures and comments about what I actually ate.

I bought a box of Greg’s other donuts that I hand picked myself, featuring 7 amazing donuts!

I shared this box of joy with my family, so I was able to receive the feedback of 4 other people. My kids really like it when Dad brings work like this home!

First up – A Cake Donut with Banana Frosting.

I love food that has been graced with banana flavor. This is the first time in my life that I have ever had a banana donut.

I enjoyed it, as did my son Zayne. Zayne loves banana flavor. A tradition in my family is that on Saturday mornings I make muffins for my family.  When I make Banana Nut Muffins, Zayne is delighted.

My daughter Zoe on the other hand, is not at all fond of bananas or anything that tastes like them. Zoe is not pleased when Banana Nut Muffins are on the Saturday morning  docket.

The Banana Donut is worth a taste, however if your preferences are more like Zoe’s than Zayne’s you may want to move on to the Chocolate Sea Salt Donut.

Chocolate Sea Salt Donut

Hands down this was my family’s favorite donut.

This donut tastes like it was dipped in some exquisite chocolate. The chocolate is much thicker than you would expect. Thick and rich. The raised donut becomes a soft pillow of goodness for the chocolate.

When you bite into this donut, you will notice the distinctive texture. The donut is soft as you would expect a donut to be.  The chocolate on top is more like biting into a baguette. The combination works really well.

   

The coup de grâce is the sea salt. Wow! So amazing. The sea salt subtly permeates each bite.

Greg uses Jacobsen Sea Salt.  A locally produced sea salt.                                                Website –  www.jacobsensalt.com                                                                                         Facebook – www.facebook.com/JacobsenSaltCo   Twitter – @JacobsenSaltCo

You have to get yourself one of these donuts!

Maple Bacon Donut

This was my favorite donut. Great maple and bacon flavor. In fact this the best maple bacon donut I have ever had. And yes, I have had other maple bacon donuts. That’s part of the delight that comes with living in Portland. My wife Gayla took one bite and exclaimed ‘That maple bacon donut is incredible!”

Banana Bacon Donut

Quite a unique donut. tastes exactly like it sounds.

    

Peanut Butter and Jelly Donut.

Topped with crunchy peanut butter frosting and filled with rapsberry jelly. The peanut butter frosting is really nice. I would love to have some of that on chocolate cake.

Crème Brûlée Donuts

It was blast to watch both of these donuts get “cart flambéd” right in front of me. Both of these donuts have a satisfying crunch when you bite into them. Both of these donuts are filled with Bavarian creme.

The red donut is coated with a frosting that reminds you of a bright red candied apple. This donut captured the imagination of my son Zac.

  

  

Ask Greg sometime about the colorful mural he has on the front of his Food Cart. There is a great story there!

That’s it,

I am Steven Shomler and I am a Fan of Great Food Carts.

Donut O Rama is a Great Portland Food Cart!

This entry was posted in Donuts, Downtown Portland Area, SW 10th and Alder Food Cart Pod and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment